Strachur Smiddy Museum
The first recorded reference to The Smiddy dates back to 1791 and it continued to offer its services in the local community until its closure in the mid 1950s. For most of its working life, the Smiddy was run by the Montgomery family, spanning four generations of blacksmiths.
The Smiddy building has been restored and gives visitors an interesting reminder of the past. All the contents remained untouched after its closure, offering a unique record of the technology of the blacksmith.
There is a small craft shop at the rear of the Smiddy. It has an exhibition and sells works of art and craft of local artists.
|Address: The Clachan, Strachur, Argyll, PA27 8DG|
|Tel: +44 (0)1369 860 508 or +44 (0)1369 860 647|
Open 7 days a week from 13:00 - 16:00 from Easter - 30 September